Series Qualifying


Promotion to core team status for the 2014/15 season was won by Japan at round seven of the 2013/14 Series, the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens, where 12 regional qualifiers will once again battle in 2015 for the one promotion place on offer in a separate 12-team competition.

Relegation from core team status will be decided at the end of the season, with the bottom-ranked of the 15 current core teams* after round nine, the Marriott London Sevens, losing their ever-present status for the 2015/16 campaign.

The new format is in line with the IRB Sevens Plan developed in partnership with the IRB's Member Unions and approved by the IRB Council and reflects the IRB's mission to deliver a pathway that ensures that all Member Unions have a transparent and merit-based opportunity to participate in the HSBC Sevens World Series.

* HSBC Sevens World Series 2014/15 core teams: Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Japan, Kenya, New Zealand, Portugal, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, USA, Wales