Sevens awards night: The winners

(IRB.COM) Monday 12 May 2014
 Sevens awards night: The winners
The IRB Sevens Dream Team in association with HSBC, voted for at all nine rounds of the Series by fans and commentators

Following an enthralling nine rounds on this year's HSBC Sevens World Series, the season came to a climax at Twickenham, with New Zealand rounding off their campaign with two trophies. 

While Samisoni Viriviri collected the IRB Sevens Player of the Year 2014 award after an impressive season for Fiji Sevens, there was cause for celebration among others as awards for the first-ever rookie of the year, fair play and the infamous dream team were given out. 

Viriviri also collected the top try scorer accolade, amassing no fewer than 52 tries across the season, 19 ahead of his closest rival Tim Mikkelson, and for head coach Ben Ryan, his flying winger is going to be hard to replace next season.

"He has been the most lethal finisher this season most consistently and his all round game has been outstanding," said Ryan.

"I hope we can produce another couple like him in the next few seasons. They will be [big shoes to fill] but Sami will still be returning to play for us next year."

Viriviri was also named in the second IRB Sevens Dream Team in association with HSBC, alongside New Zealand's Scott Curry and captain DJ Forbes, Australia's Cameron Clark, Justin Geduld of South Africa and Canada's captain John Moonlight and an elated Phil Mack.

"I am really stoked, and to share it with Mooner means so much more," said Mack. 

"We have worked so hard as a team to get things right and it has paid off this year. To be recognised for it is great. It is a special feeling, and as a team we have made huge strides and we will share this with them. Mooner brings everything, his leadership is awesome, and the team follow behind him. I am super happy."

In a Series first, a rookie of the year was also named, for a player playing in his first season on the circuit, voted for by the fans and rubber-stamped by the TV commentators. The winner, unsurprisingly, a member of the successful 12-time champions the All Blacks Sevens.

"I am a bit speechless really. I am very humble and honoured to get the award," said Ambrose Curtis, who received the award from the all-time leading try scorer and now Argentina coach Santiago Gomez Cora.

"To be the first one in my first year, which is what it is all about, I am really honoured. At the start of the season I just wanted to get as many games as possible, but I thank and give credit to Titch for giving me the opportunities. 

"My next focus is the Commonwealth Games and then the next two seasons, it would be a dream come true if I could get to the Olympics."

Scotland were the winners of the fair play award, presented by Rasta Rasivhenge, and collected by Colin Gregor who appeared in his 50th Series event at Twickenham. "Perhaps we will have to be a bit more pushy with the refs next season," joked the Scotsman on receiving the award.