Series host Glasgow hits Comm Games milestone

(IRB.COM) Tuesday 23 July 2013
 Series host Glasgow hits Comm Games milestone
Scotland captain Colin Gregor and teammate Andrew Turnbull are both Commonwealth Games veterans

Scotland Sevens captain Colin Gregor joined six-time Olympic and double Commonwealth Gold medal winner Sir Chris Hoy on Tuesday to mark the one-year-to-go milestone for the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games.

Before the city puts on the Games in July 2014, Glasgow will once again host the penultimate round of the HSBC Sevens World Series, providing Scottish fans with the ideal dress rehearsal for the event, which is set to be played at the famous 51,000-seater Ibrox Stadium.

“It has now really sunk in that it’s just one year to go to the Commonwealth Games," said Gregor. "It’s going to be a massive year for Scotland, Scottish sport and Scotland Sevens.

“The buzz on Buchanan Street was really apparent and there was a really good vibe that you know is just going to grow and grow as the year goes on.”

Glasgow 2014 Ambassador Sir Chris Hoy, said: “It was a real thrill to be in the heart of Glasgow celebrating the One Year to Go milestone to the Commonwealth Games. Glasgow 2014 is the biggest sporting celebration coming to the UK next year, the biggest sporting occasion ever seen in Scotland and the next opportunity to see a wealth of top athletes and the next generation of superstars in action.

“The Commonwealth Games has a very special place in my heart. It’s an occasion like no other in sport and I have no doubt that Glasgow and Scotland will ensure next year’s Games are an unforgettable and enjoyable experience for athletes and spectators alike. I’d encourage everyone to be part of this. Roll on next year and bring on Glasgow 2014!”   

The reigning Commonwealth Rugby Sevens champions are New Zealand, who have won all four gold medals contested since the sport first became a part of the Games in 1998.

Commonwealth Sevens roll of honour

1998, Kuala Lumpur - New Zealand
2002, Manchester - New Zealand
2006, Melbourne - New Zealand
2010, Delhi - New Zealand