IRB confirms pool draw for London Sevens

(IRB.COM) Sunday 6 May 2012
 IRB confirms pool draw for London Sevens
Dan Norton's pace will be on show at England's home of rugby, Twickenham

The IRB has confirmed the pool draw for the ninth and final round of the HSBC Sevens World Series, the Marriott London Sevens to be played at Twickenham Stadium on 12-13 May 2012.

The draw was made live on television before the Cup final of the penultimate round in Glasgow, won by World Series leaders New Zealand.


As Glasgow champions, New Zealand top Pool A and face matches against Argentina, Russia and Kenya.

Glasgow runners-up England head Pool B on home soil and will take on Samoa, France and USA on day one.

New Zealand's closest Series rivals, Fiji, were drawn top of Pool C and will play Wales, Spain and Zimbabwe.

Finally, Australia head Pool D and face a tough trio of matches against South Africa, Scotland and Portugal.


Cup winners - 2011/12 HSBC Sevens World Series

Round 1 - Gold Coast - Fiji
Round 2 - Dubai - England
Round 3 - Port Elizabeth - New Zealand
Round 4 - Wellington - New Zealand
Round 5 - Las Vegas - Samoa
Round 6 - Hong Kong - Fiji
Round 7 - Tokyo - Australia
Round 8 - Glasgow - New Zealand
Round 9 - London - 12-13 May

London Sevens

Round 9
10-11 May 2014 Venue: Twickenham
City: London
Capacity: 82,000

  • Sir Gordon Tietjens
  • Simon Amor
  • New Zealand celebrate in London