London Sevens victors return for Australia

(IRB.COM) Monday 9 May 2011
 London Sevens victors return for Australia
Henry Vanderglas (right) is one of the returning Wallabies to have tasted Cup success at Twickenham

Australia Sevens coach Michael O’Connor has named his strongest squad of the HSBC Sevens World Series season, with seven players set to return to Twickenham with the invaluable experience of winning the tournament last year.

O’Connor has made three changes to his 12-man squad for the UK climax to the Series with Henry Vanderglas, Dan Yakopo and Jesse Parahi coming into the side for the London (21-22 May) and Edinburgh (28-29 May) tournaments.
Australia return to London as the defending champions after a thrilling 19-14 victory over South Africa in the Cup final at Twickenham last year ended an eight-year title drought.
The young Aussies nearly made it back-to-back titles in Edinburgh the following weekend, but were trumped by eventual World Series champions Samoa in the decider.

New ARU recruit and former Brisbane Broncos player Denan Kemp has been included in the extended 15-man squad, which will assemble on the Gold Coast on 12 May.

Kemp, and fellow shadow players Shaun Foley and Jason Seage, will continue preparations at camp and are on standby should there be any injuries before the team departs for London on 16 May.

With two tournaments remaining, New Zealand (134) and England (121) will fight it out for the 2010/11 HSBC Sevens World Series title.

Reigning champions Samoa (100) are likely to battle it out for third place with South Africa (92) and Fiji (90), while Australia lie sixth with 52 points. 
Australia squad: Bernard Foley (capt), Ed Jenkins, (vc), Hamish Angus, Lewis Holland, Zack Holmes, Greg Jeloudev, Jono Lance, Jesse Parahi, Brian Sefanaia, Jacob Taylor, Henry Vanderglas, Dan Yakopo.

Video: Australia win 2010 London Sevens

Related items

London Sevens

Round 9
10-11 May 2014 Venue: Twickenham
City: London
Capacity: 82,000

  • Sir Gordon Tietjens
  • Simon Amor
  • New Zealand celebrate in London